Skip to content

Catching Up

July 23, 2017

Catching up…yes, it has been quite some time since I last posted. My fault, totally.  Not that I haven’t been fishing.  Maybe not as much as I want, but more on that later.

Missed the MN Musky Opener due to work. Made up for it by going to Lake Minnetonka on Sunday, June 4.  Absolutely gorgeous.  No wind. Calm.  Water crystal clear. Not a musky to be had.  Saw a mid 30″ fish in about two feet of water on a sandy point near some spawning bluegills.  Wasn’t spooked at all by the boat.  In fact, I passed right over it and it didn’t budge at all.  Off the lake by nine due to prior commitments.  Caught a few bass on cranks.

IMG_1755

Rented a house through Vacation Rentals By Owner on Lake Darling in Alexandria, MN, the week of June 19th.  Had a blast.  The bass and northern pike were plentiful. Lots of fish.  Biggest bass was 18″.  The walleyes…tough to come by.  The beverages…cold and refreshing.  S’mores.  Bonfires.  Go-Karts.  Mini Golf.  Bumper Boats.  Golf. Escape Room.  Craft Beer.  Loons. Wine tasting at Carlos Creek Winery.

The first course of business on any trip to Alexandria though is to stop in at Christopherson Bait Shop.  The kids each picked out a lure or two and two of them turned out be dynamite.  The first, a classic Beetle Spin, caught bass, pike, rock bass and several nice crappies.  The other, a Rapala Skitter Walk, was an absolute blast as well, as it caught bass, pike and even crappies.  Awesome action and noise.

IMG_1800

While jigging for walleyes I caught this whopper.

IMG_1813

The end of vacation was typically sour.  Always tough to leave.  Even tougher to leave though when someone steals the bolt from your trailer.

IMG_1840

Left the trailer at the access overnight and some pranksters thought it might be funny for someone to get their boat on the trailer only to see it roll back into the water when they pulled out.  No idea how it stayed in the hitch, but I got really lucky.  Thank goodness I discovered it before hitting the road.  Will need to get a locking bolt apparently.

This only added to my angst though as my boat was nearly out of oil, was running on three cylinders due to a spark plug wire coming undone when I pulled the cover off in an effort to discover why it wouldn’t start.

Got home and fixed the spark plug wire, charged the batteries, tightened up some loose nuts and thought I solved the problem as it started right up.  Wrong.

Went fishing the morning of July 9, 2017, and same problem…wouldn’t start.  Fortunately, I was at Lake O’Dowd and it was calm so I fished around for a couple hours with the trolling motor.  Caught a few small bass.  Definitely not what I was anticipating though.

So having a motor that won’t start is only part of the challenge.  The bigger challenge has been finding a marina willing to work on a motor as old as mine, a 90 H.P. 1990 Evinrude outboard.  Out of action until at least August 3.  Guess I need to get creative.  Or sleep in, which is what I did last week and I must admit, it felt kind of good to wake up at 8 a.m. and golf in the afternoon.

So much for golf.  Went to Steiger this morning thinking I could get around with the trolling motor. The forecast was for 4 MPH winds out of the NW.  Nothing I couldn’t handle.  Problem was: an early morning front went through when I was on the water.  This resulted in stiff easterly winds from about forty minutes that forced me off the water.  One nice 19″ fish before I was forced off.  Kind of slow though and the top water action I had hoped for never materialized.  Seven other boats on the water so these are pressured fish.  Toads and Zoom flukes.  Got to have ’em.

 

-Hats

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fishing and Thinking in Minnesota

Fishing tales and musings from a diehard angler in the Land of 10,000 Lakes

Gray Goat Fly Fishing

Fishing tales and musings from a diehard angler in the Land of 10,000 Lakes

Adrift // Fishing + Culture + Life

Fishing tales and musings from a diehard angler in the Land of 10,000 Lakes

Journal of a Minnesota Angler

Fishing Stories of an avid fisherman

Fishing tales and musings from a diehard angler in the Land of 10,000 Lakes

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

